To close an account with Stripe, the owner of the account can do the following:
From the Stripe Dashboard: Business Settings > Data > Close this account
Please keep in mind that if the Stripe account was created through a third-party application, closing the account with Stripe does not close the third-party account. Conversely, deleting an account with a third-party product does not delete the Stripe account connected to it.
The only way to close a Stripe account is from the Stripe dashboard as outlined above. You are able export the data in the account to a CSV file before closing it, if you would like.
Once a Stripe account is closed, it cannot be undone.